In 1939, the original church building arrived on the back of a lorry from London. It was a second-hand, pre-fabricated structure and was placed in the corner of a two acre plot of land donated by William Strickland. The intention was always to construct a ‘proper’ church buidling. However, the humble old building was much loved and was an important part of church life.
Seventy years on, the much larger congregation were ready to build the new church, having outgrown the pre-fab building with its asbestos and leaking roofs.
The church-owned allotments were sold to developers with planning consent for 10 houses and 4 flats, all designed to complement the new brick church building and to provide much needed funding for the new church.
The result of the development is charming, with an ‘Arts & Crafts’ stylistic theme to the crescent of houses, all of which sold off plan before completion. The church is dramatic in architectural form internally with expressed timber structure, white painted walls and ceilings, glass and stone tiles enclosing a very simple layout of spaces.Back to Projects